How to choose dental clinic software

Every clinic tool promises a schedule, a chart and invoices. The differences are in details you will live with every day. This guide lays out the questions that tell the tools apart, and under each one it gives examples from the vendors' own pages with source and date. It recommends no product.

Page last reviewed: · Prepared by the publisher's team with AI assistance. Not yet reviewed by an independent reader.

1. How the price is counted: per user, per room, or per clinic

Some tools price by users and rooms; others charge one price per clinic. Count your dentists, assistants and chairs, then compare the cost of your own clinic, not the first price shown.

Examples cited to the vendors' own pages
  • Dentiflow (Published price)

    One published plan, Starting: $49 a month billed yearly, with 1 user, 1 surgical room and unlimited patient records. An extra user is $9 and an extra room $13 a month. SMS is $100 a year per 1,000. A Premium plan is marked coming soon.

    Source ·Last verified: ·Level 1: the vendor says so

  • Devign Dentistry (Published price)

    $29 per clinic per month with every user included. A new clinic starts with a 30-day trial. Paid by card through Stripe, billed monthly.

    Source ·Last verified: ·Level 1: the vendor says so

  • DentinCloud (Published price)

    Our two readings disagree, so we cannot say which applies to Lebanon: TO CONFIRM. On 16 Oct its home page listed a free tier (up to 100 patients, no time limit), $39 a month or $349 a year, and said prices are for the US market. On 7 Oct its pricing page listed Free (2 users, 250 patients), Starter $11 and Pro $16 a month.

    Source ·Last verified: ·Level 1: the vendor says so

2. The dental chart and the treatment plan: try them on a real case

Ask to record a case from your own clinic yourself: tooth by tooth, a treatment plan with prices, and the invoice that follows. A feature that looks the same on a feature list differs a lot in use.

Examples cited to the vendors' own pages
  • Dentolize (Dental chart and treatment plans)

    A dental chart with treatments added per tooth, treatment plans, prescriptions with history, lab orders, and storage for X-rays and images.

    Source ·Last verified: ·Level 1: the vendor says so

  • DentinCloud (Dental chart and treatment plans)

    A click-and-mark odontogram, treatment management, and X-rays and files kept per patient.

    Source ·Last verified: ·Level 1: the vendor says so

  • Devign Dentistry (Dental chart and treatment plans)

    An interactive dental chart (FDI numbering, five surfaces per tooth), treatment plans built from a procedure catalogue with costs, and file attachments such as X-rays. Prescriptions were not found.

    Source ·Last verified: ·Level 1: the vendor says so

3. Reminders: WhatsApp or paid SMS?

Your patients live on WhatsApp. Ask which channel the product uses today, whether each message is charged, and whether it is automatic or manual.

Examples cited to the vendors' own pages
  • Dentiflow (WhatsApp and reminders)

    Reminders go by automatic SMS, sold in blocks. WhatsApp reminders are not stated.

    Source ·Last verified: ·Level 1: the vendor says so

  • Dentolize (WhatsApp and reminders)

    A WhatsApp bot lets patients book by choosing branch, specialty and doctor, and sends an automatic confirmation. It also reminds patients of upcoming visits automatically and can generate payment links.

    Source ·Last verified: ·Level 1: the vendor says so

  • Devign Dentistry (WhatsApp and reminders)

    WhatsApp and SMS notifications are marked coming soon. Appointment notifications go by email.

    Source ·Last verified: ·Level 1: the vendor says so

4. Currencies and instalment payments

Where more than one currency is in use, ask about a two-currency invoice, and about an instalment plan for an orthodontic case that runs for months.

Examples cited to the vendors' own pages
  • DentinCloud (Dollar and lira billing)

    It claims multi-currency invoicing. A dollar-and-lira invoice is not described.

    Source ·Last verified: ·Level 1: the vendor says so

  • Devign Dentistry (Dollar and lira billing)

    The subscription is priced in US dollars. Each clinic sets one currency symbol for its invoices and reports. A dollar-and-lira invoice is not claimed.

    Source ·Last verified: ·Level 1: the vendor says so

5. Cloud and working offline

Most of what we read is cloud-based. Internet and power drop, so ask what happens to appointments and files then, and ask the vendor to show it.

Examples cited to the vendors' own pages
  • Dentiflow (Cloud, offline and apps)

    100% cloud-based, with an app. No offline or on-premise option is stated.

    Source ·Last verified: ·Level 1: the vendor says so

  • Dentolize (Cloud, offline and apps)

    Cloud, with Android, iOS and Huawei apps. It lists "offline and online support" but does not explain how offline works.

    Source ·Last verified: ·Level 1: the vendor says so

  • DentinCloud (Cloud, offline and apps)

    Cloud, in the browser on a laptop, tablet or phone. No offline or on-premise option is stated.

    Source ·Last verified: ·Level 1: the vendor says so

6. Arabic and the patient's language

An Arabic web page does not mean an Arabic, right-to-left app. Ask also about the language of the receipt and the printed plan the patient takes home.

Examples cited to the vendors' own pages
  • Dentiflow (Arabic (right to left))

    English only. Its pricing page says new languages are coming soon.

    Source ·Last verified: ·Level 1: the vendor says so

  • Devign Dentistry (Arabic (right to left))

    The system runs in Arabic, French, English and Spanish, and the Arabic interface reads right to left.

    Source ·Last verified: ·Level 1: the vendor says so

  • Dentolize (Arabic (right to left))

    Arabic and English versions exist, and the Arabic site is laid out right to left. Whether the app itself is right to left is not stated.

    Source ·Last verified: ·Level 1: the vendor says so

7. Insurance

If you deal with insurers, ask how the insurance share is worked out on the invoice and how the amount owed by each insurer is tracked.

Examples cited to the vendors' own pages
  • Dentolize (Insurance)

    Insurance percentages are set per company and deducted automatically on the invoice. It tracks collected and outstanding amounts per insurer.

    Source ·Last verified: ·Level 1: the vendor says so

  • DentinCloud (Insurance)

    Advanced billing and insurance is listed as a Pro feature.

    Source ·Last verified: ·Level 1: the vendor says so

8. Patient records: where they are stored and who sees them

The patient record is the most valuable thing in the clinic. Ask in writing for the country of the servers, who can see a file and whether changes are logged, and for a full export in an open format. We give no legal advice: ask your own adviser what obligations apply.

Examples cited to the vendors' own pages
  • Devign Dentistry (Company and base)

    Devign LLC, registered in Wyoming, USA, with its team operating from Lebanon. Patient data is stored in France, inside the EU.

    Source ·Last verified: ·Level 1: the vendor says so

9. Before you sign

Read next

Sources